OEA Award Winners

Winners of the Oklahoma Education Association’s 2012 awards were honored during the Delegate Assembly, April 27-28, in Norman, Okla. Below is a list of all our award winners, including individual members, local associations, and high school student and professional journalists. You will find photos of the award presentations for the Marshall Gregory Awards and Local Association Awards in our Photo Gallery.

Education Support Professional Award
Steven Blades, Union Support Personnel Association

Presented to an individual ESP member whose activities reflect the contributions of the educational support professional to public education.

Blades won the ESP Award for his outstanding work with students as well as his dedication to the Union Support Personnel Association (USPA).

In addition to his position as an aide in special education classes at Moore Elementary in the Tulsa Union school district, Blades is a district trainer for the Mandt restraint technique. He has been named a Union Public Schools support employee of the month and was the district’s 2009 support employee of the year. He has earned a bachelor’s in business management from the University of Phoenix, and has also met the master teacher requirements of the district’s Extended Day Program (EPD) summer camp.

NFIE Award for Teaching Excellence 
Kristin Shelby, Hollis, Harmon County EA

Recognizing an OEA/NEA member for excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession. The state affiliate winner is automatically nominated for the national award program, which is presented by the NEA Foundation.

Shelby is the OEA’s nomination for the national award. She is currently serving as Oklahoma’s Ambassador of Education as State Teacher of the Year. In addition, Shelby is a National Board Certified Teacher who has a master’s of education administration from Southwestern Oklahoma State University and a bachelor’s in elementary education from Oklahoma State University.

Collective Bargaining Award 
Putnam City ACT Negotiations Team

Presented to an individual or group making a significant contribution to the advancement of education through the collective bargaining process.

PCACT’s team was able to secure significant pay increases at the table last summer. Their gains included:

• Teachers with four or more years in Putnam City received three full steps on the salary schedule, which meant raises between $1,150 and $2,050.

• Teachers with fewer than three years each received between $250 at Step 0 and $700 at Step 1.

• Using the OEA’s Extra Duty Comparison, all extra duty stipends were raised to the median rate.

• A bank of $100 stipends was set aside for each teacher to attend professional development. 

• Language increasing elementary planning time was adopted.

Members of the PCACT bargaining team are Katherine Bishop, Lake Park Elementary; Rene Allen, Hefner Middle School; Stephanie Anderson, PC North High School; Tammy Jensen, PC West High School; and Jody Williams, Western Oaks Elementary. PCACT president Eric Winkle is an ad hoc member of the team.

Stan R. Bryant Political Action Award 
Zone Oklahoma City Metro B

Presented annually by the Board of Directors to the OEA Zone with the largest per member contribution level to the OEA Fund for Children and Public Education. OKC Metro B won the award for the fifth straight year, raising $7,598 for an average per zone member of $7.99. Jan Sands was the zone director for the time period of the award and Eric Winkle, Putnam City ACT president, was the zone Fund chair.




Marshall Gregory Awards 

The Marshall Gregory Awards recognize professional and high school student reporters and broadcasters and their newspapers, websites, radio and television stations for excellence in accurate, positive coverage of public schools, education issues, the education process and/or the Oklahoma Education Association.

Student Print Division 

Special Publications

Award of Excellence - “Budget Cuts 2011,” Katelyn McCarley, Bartlesville High School

Award of Merit - “The Pride,” Matthew Bendure, Editor, Chouteau High School

Year-Round Coverage, News

Award of Excellence - Webster Weekly, Tulsa Webster High School

Single Event, News

Award of Excellence - “Cell Phones Now Part of Curriculum,” Cassie Hale, Tulsa Webster High School

Award of Merit - “Why Care?” Amie Thomison and Nicole Biddinger, Bartlesville High School


Award of Excellence - “Budget Cuts,” Katelyn McCarley, Bartlesville High School

Award of Merit - “Do Not Let the Lights Go Out on Education,” Tyler Bell, Bartlesville High School

Single Event, Editorial

Award of Excellence - “Through the Editor’s Eyes,” McKenzie Everett, Chouteau High School

Award of Merit - “Bond Issue Prevents Crumbling Education,” Katelyn McCarley, Bartlesville High School 

Single Event, Features

Award of Excellence - “Astronomy Club Becomes Owner of NASA Tile,” Jacob Chidester, Chouteau High School

Awards of Merit - "Edward: ‘This is My Family Now,’” Alexa Hibler and Meisha McDaniel, Tulsa Webster High School,

    “Good Morning Webster,” Myesha Barber, Tulsa Webster High School, and

    “Students Experience Life,” Paige Dunham, Chouteau High School

Student Broadcast Division 

Single Event, Feature

Award of Excellence - “D.E.C.A.,” Hattie McFerron and Ciarra Stapleton, Norman North High School

TV Series

Award of Excellence - “Classes,” Shane Boyd, Steven Hefner, Lane Miller, and Charles Sager, Norman North High School

Year-Round Coverage, Videography

Award of Merit - “Timberwolf Tracks,” Norman North High School Broadcast Production Class

Professional Print Division 


Award of Excellence - “Garden Helps to Grow Young Minds,” Stephen Robertson, Lawton Constitution                           

Single Event, News

Award of Excellence - “Students Try to Set New Record,” Josh Rouse, Lawton Constitution

Single Event, Feature

Award of Excellence - “Lady Lions Fight Cancer,” Moore Monthly, Trifecta Communications


Golden Apple Awards 

The Golden Apple Awards recognize OEA local Associations for their consistent efforts to provide quality communications to all of their audiences, including members and other education personnel, local school administration, parents, and the community in general.

Exceptional Internal Communications

Newsletters - “IN FOCUS,” Cindy Dunn, Becky Hatchett, Linda Bynum, Sand Springs EA, and

     “PEAL in Action,” Cynthia Phariss, Professional Educators’ Association of Lawton

Special Projects - “BEA Appreciation Cards,” Bartlesville EA

Video - “ESP Recognition,” Union Education Personnel Association





Five Star Local Awards

The OEA 5 Star Local Program recognizes local associations for the services they provide their members and for their activity in the local community with OEA various program service areas of Advocacy, Communications, Legislative and Political Organizing, Organizational Development, and Teaching and Learning. This spring’s winners have all earned Five Star status:

  • Bartlesville Education Association
  • Enid Education Association
  • Professional Educators’ Association of Lawton
  • Marlow Association of Classroom Teachers
  • Mid-Del Association of Classroom Teachers
  • Moore Association of Classroom Teachers
  • Professional Educators of Norman
  • McLoud Association of Classroom Teachers
  • Putnam City Association of Classroom Teachers
  • Sand Springs Education Association
  • Tulsa Classroom Teachers Association


Back to top