Executive Officers

Linda Hampton, President

In March 2012, Linda Hampton was elected as President of the Oklahoma Education Association. Linda became the 96th president of the state’s largest education professional association representing more than 35,000 teachers, support professionals, administrators, retired educators and education majors at Oklahoma colleges and universities.

Linda served as OEA Vice President prior to becoming President. For six years, Linda represented OEA members in Washington, D.C., as a member of the NEA Board of Directors while continuing to teach in the classroom. Linda has also served the Association as a member of the OEA Board of Directors. She was also a past president, vice president and secretary of her local.

She was raised and graduated from Holdenville. Linda received her Bachelor’s and Master’s degree from East Central University in Ada, Oklahoma. She taught elementary students for over 30 years in Pleasant Grove, a dependent school district west of Seminole. She is currently on leave of absence from Seminole Public Schools. She is a former Pleasant Grove Teacher of the Year and Seminole County Teacher of the Year. Linda’s former students also nominated her in five different years for Who’s Who Among American Teachers.

Linda is a past recipient of the Sapulpa Dedication to Teachers award and the OEA’s Kate Frank Meritorious Service award.

Alicia Priest, Vice President

Yukon’s Alicia Priest became vice president of the Oklahoma Education Association on July 6, 2011, replacing Linda Hampton who had moved into the presidency earlier in the year. Alicia was elected to a full, three-year term as vice president in March 2012.

Alicia taught English Language Learners (ELL) and Spanish in Yukon for 16 years and is a former Parkland Elementary Teacher of the Year. She received a bachelor’s in Spanish from Oklahoma City University and a master’s in secondary school administration from the University of Central Oklahoma. She is working on a doctorate in Education Leadership-Superintendency from Oklahoma State University.

A former member of OEA’s Board of Directors, Alicia most recently represented Oklahoma on the National Education Association Board of Directors. She was appointed by Gov. Mary Fallin to serve on the state Teacher and Leader Effectiveness Committee, and is a former chair of the State Textbook Committee.

On the local level, Alicia served in a variety of positions for the Yukon Professional Educators’ Association including president and negotiations chair.

David DuVall, Executive Director

David DuVall returned to the Oklahoma Education Association on January 2, 2015, for his second stint at executive director of the state’s oldest and largest professional organization for education employees.

He first joined the OEA in 1981, through the years serving as a UniServ manager, bargaining director, research director, communications manager, and associate executive director before being named executive director in 1997. He left Oklahoma in 2005 to become executive director for the Colorado Education Association, and assumed the position of NEA Western Region Director on July 1, 2008. The NEA Western Region includes 10 affiliates in Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

During his time at CEA, David focused the organization’s efforts on political activities and attacking the state’s TABOR provision which robbed the state of much needed revenue for public education. It was also during this time that the state passed Referendum C, a five-year TABOR time out which provided billions of dollars for essential governmental services.

As executive director at OEA from 97-05, David was instrumental in the creation of the Oklahoma Education Coalition (OEC), which unified 12 large public education advocacy groups.  Under his leadership, the OEA and other coalition members successfully lobbied the Oklahoma Legislature to pass the largest single teacher pay raise in state history (2000) and to provide state-paid single premium health insurance for all full-time public education employees in Oklahoma (2004).

Prior to joining the OEA in 1981, David taught English and journalism in the Chickasha and Norman Oklahoma School Districts.  During his teaching career, David served as president of the Professional Educators of Norman.


Back to top

Inside Executive Officers

OEA's Center
for Governance

Setting OEA's direction in promoting quality teaching and learning while protecting the rights and enhancing quality conditions of employment for public education employees will be the challenge of OEA's Leadership Team.

Oklahoma Education Association
PO Box 18485
Oklahoma City, OK 73154
Office 405.528.7785
Office 800.522.8091

Linda Hampton, President

Alicia Priest, Vice President

David DuVall, Executive Director

Rheta Kennedy, Administrative Assistant

Maureen Peters, Administrative Assistant