Legal & Advocacy

OEA members can count on professional legal assistance

Advocates provide assistance to help empower members in their professional lives. Association members want to know their professional rights are going to be protected and they want to participate in making decisions that affect salaries and working conditions.


Protecting You and Your Rights as an Education Professional

Advocacy Center Specialists are trained to help you and your local Association in a number ways related to your rights as a professional. Whether it's through workshops, in planning sessions with your executive officers or a committee, or with you individually, we help you protect yourself and your colleagues.

Assistance is provided through:

  • Member Advocacy, which includes assistance in response writing, individual rights issues and employment problems;
  • Collective Bargaining Assistance And Preparation for Bargaining Councils, dispute resolution and impasse resolution;
  • Local Association Advocacy, includes grievance processing, privatization and local Association issues;
  • Research, including the OEA Greenbook and Extra Duty Pay Comparisons for Large Districts

Center for Advocacy


Oklahoma City Metro

Martha Wissler
mwissler@okea.org
800.522.8091
405.528.7785

Jay Owens
jowens@okea.org
800.522.8091
405.528.7785


Southwest

Sheri Childress
schildress@okea.org
800.522.8091
405.528.7785


Northwest

Mary Pratz
mpratz@okea.org
800.522.8091
405.528.7785


Tulsa Metro

Susan Stowe
sstowe@okea.org
800.331.5143
918.665.2282



Tulsa Classroom Teachers Association

Linda Hendrix
lhendrix@okea.org
918.749.2544


Northeast

Melissa Kaltenbaugh
mknox@okea.org
800.331.5143
918.665.2282


Southeast

Cal Ware
cware@okea.org
800.522.8091
405.528.7785

 

 

Back to top